Category Archives: Writing

NEW NOVEL! The Mystic Matchmaker: We Kiss Frogs So You Won’t Have To

When a nasty leprechaun threatens her family, a reluctant magical matchmaker must make a big, sweaty sacrifice or die.

RELEASE DATE: April 16, 2021

Available on Amazon:
Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B092SXCMMY/
US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B092SXCMMY/

Meet Dolly Maitland. She’s a sister, a granddaughter, a waitress… and a mystic matchmaker? It’s just a regular talent, right? There’s nothing supernatural about being able to envision someone’s true love just by touching them. Ah, Dolly, thy name is denial.

But the blinders are off when a nasty leprechaun places a magical curse on Dolly and her brother: “Find my grandson a bride in four days or die!”

With no time to process that the supernatural is real and Dolly is part of it, the hunt is on for the leprechaun bride. To help with the search, Dolly and her brother call on everyone they know—both super and natural. A fallen demon, a psychic sketch artist, and a passionate professor help them overcome obstacles like a mad bomber, a crazy ex, and the lethal leprechaun.

Then there’s the thing Dolly’s never told anyone—that whenever one of her happy couples gets down for the first time, their love and lust spill over onto Dolly, ratcheting up her own need to scratch that itch. Will her maddening desire distract her from finding the Little Green Bride before they put the dead in deadline?

Enjoy this urban fantasy mystery with a sexy romantic sub-plot for fans of Sookie Stackhouse and Stephanie Plum.

Ah, writing. How I have missed you.

I was 27,000 words–about halfway through–the first draft of my YA psychological thriller, Untrue Crime, when my friend Kay Lynne Simpson (aka The Nightowl) passed away suddenly. I called it a half-Nanowrimo (like a half marathon) and stopped writing to help the other local fen with Kay’s needs, and then to grieve.

Now it’s six weeks later and I’ve only just re-opened the document.

I started writing back in 1997, when Kay Lynne told me I had to. I’m ashamed to say my first fanfic is still on the net if you know where to look. Then in 2007, I decided to go pro, quickly contracting my first novel, Gym Dandy.

Now it’s 2017 and this is the longest I’ve ever gone without working on a book, either writing or editing. I’ve been doing a wee bit of marketing, but not a heck of a lot of that, either.

So just in time for the holidays, I’m back at it. I’m re-writing the opening. Instead of taking chapter after chapter to get to the main story action as I usually do, it’s now in the very first scene. I’m pretty pleased with it.

Of course that means deleting a bunch of stuff, but tighter writing trumps word count.

So we carry on…

faux-cvr-1

I’m officially declaring Nano a half-win

There are half-marathons. Why not a half-Nano? I wrote 25,000 words in the first half of November. Now, sadly, some difficulties and stresses have sprung up and I’m declaring it a win and devoting myself to caring for family and friends. And me.

I’ll still write UNTRUE CRIME, but not in November. Maybe I’ll have it finished by year-end. Guess we’ll see.

I’m also taking a break from marketing. So please imagine I’m still yelling “Buy my boooook!” even though I’m not.

I do have a free book if you’re interested: https://www.instafreebie.com/free/PrzpI

fac-signup-ad

 

The entire Reluctant Reaper series for $9.00

Whew. The weird pricing on Amazon.com is gone and you can once again by my Reluctant Reaper series for a reasonable price. Click HERE for more details. Click HERE to buy.

reluctant-reaper-ad1

NANO DAY WHATEVER…

No really. Yesterday was Day 5 and we had to submit our word count to our RWA chapter. I’m at 10,000 words. (10,058 to be exact).

Today I’m a bit thrown by the time change. I actually woke up at 3:00 am, according to my phone. Went to the basement and cleaned up 2 boxes of family stuff that I’d been meaning to go through for years. Scanned a picture of my Dad from the 50s for my cousin Kim.

Now it’s 12:30 and I JUST opened my nano book file. Time for lunch, eh?

Dad, circa 1950s. More info here: http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/freddy-grant-emc/freddygrant1950s-2

2900 words on Day 1.

Take that, Nano.

Got off to a rocky start by trying to have everything happen at once. But I untangled the threads and arranged them in the correct order–like dominoes–this has to happen in order for this to happen.

Never: this happens, then this, then this.

Always: This happens that leads to that happening, but then this happens… Rinse repeat.

How’d you do?

Okay, Nano. It’s just you and me. And half-a-million other writers.

faux-cvr-1Outline done, dog walked, solitaire played. Time to start writing this sucker.

Tagline: Is it still a crime if you don’t get caught?

Want to keep up on my doings? Click here. (Oh, and you get a free book. or two.)

 

It’s outrageous to price a book like that!

Due to a glitch between Simon & Schuster and Amazon, my Reaper ebook novels are TEMPORARILY priced like print books. Ouch!

So if you took a look recently and thought, “Whoa, what is up with that?” Please be patient. It’s just a glThe Reluctant Reaper, pun-filled and award-winning. What's not to laugh?itch and they’ll be returned to their normal pricing soon.

This is only on Amazon.com, folks.

In the meantime, here’s the 3 fun graphics to entertain you. (Did you know you can get TWO free books for signing up for my newsletter? Click on the red box. Or go here.)

Reading order:
1. The Reluctant Reaper
2. Scythe Does Matter (Oh, yes it does.)
3. Esprit de Corpse

The Reluctant Reaper, pun-filled and sexy. What's not to love?Come save the worlds--all of them, with Kirsty and Dante. (Yes, that Dante.)

 

Scythe Does Matter

Happy Throwback Thursday. This week, for your reading pleasure, it’s Book #2 of The Reluctant Reaper series from Simon & Schuster: Scythe Does Matter.

Details here / Universal buy links here / Get a free Storm Grant book here

rr2-ad

First person dead

It’s Book Quote Wednesday (#Bookqw) on Twitter. Today’s word is “Finger.” Here’s mine for Book 2 of The Reluctant Reaper series from Simon & Schuster.

Details here / Universal buy links here / Get a free Storm Grant book here

rr2finger

%d bloggers like this: