How much would you pay???

I’m told I have a knack for writing taglines and blurbs, coming up with titles, sometimes even synopses. Today I’m working on blurbs for my brand, spankin’ new author co-op (as yet nameless, but I’ve submitted some ideas). That means, including my own, I’ve worked on 14 so far today! (Some of my colleagues have entire series.)

I also promised my friend Hyacinthe I’d look at her query letter and synopsis, as well as doing a trade off with pal Jennifer: she has marketing tech savvy and I’ll look at all of her books. She has… wow! A lot of books.

People keep praising my ability to do this. And I enjoy it. If I were to hang out my shingle, what would you be willing to pay for a tagline and a back cover/query blurb?

Here are some taglines I’ve come up with:

For my Reluctant Reaper series: Death is what happens while you’re making other plans.

For my friend Joan Leacott’s secret baby book: Instant family; just add daughter. (I wrote the blurb, too.)

For my latest release, Edwardian steamy-punk, Re-Inventing Love: The road to love is paved with good inventions. 

There’s lots more. I’ll post them as I come across them.

Let me know what you think is a fair price. Thanks! 

brain-for-writers

About Gina X. Grant

Gina X. Grant writes ingenious plotlines with twists, turns and sometimes magic. She is represented by Rosemary Stimola, the agent who also represents the Hunger Games series. Gina’s RELUCTANT REAPER trilogy is available from Simon and Schuster’s Pocket Star imprint. She lives in Toronto, Canada, just blocks from the house she grew up in. She’s married to a friendly curmudgeon from a mining town in Northern Ontario. They have one rescued hound, Storm, named for Gina’s other pen name. Storm Grant—the writer, not the hound dog—writes engaging action adventure with two heroes. Since 2007, she has published with a variety of e-publishers and more recently, self-publishes. Gina’s and Storm’s books are available at all your favorite etailers, such as Amazon, Kobo and iTunes. Visit ginaXgrant.com or stormgrant.com to find out more.

Posted on September 13, 2016, in Blurb, Marketing, Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Your tagline for my secret-baby book draws a smile EVERY time. And your latest for my Stormy Wedding series–perfect. I’d done them in a logline class and thought they were good… Ha!. You pushed them to the next level of appeal. Thank you! Whatever you charge, I’ll pay. You are so WORTH it!

  2. I’m so glad you’re pursuing this! You’re brilliant at it. My blurbs should know. 😉

Leave a Reply

