Why do you write? No, really. I wanna know.

In this recent post, “I Hate Self-Promotion,” Tim Grahl, one of the marketing gurus who offers good content for free, asks, “What is Your Why?”  In other words, why do you write?

He says that if you understand your “why,” you will stop hating self-promotion. So I’m thinking about my why.

I know I write to entertain. My books usually contain humor–either direct jokes and puns, or humorous situations–but that’s not enough. My latest book, UNPLUGGED (title subject to change), deals with tragedy. Oh, sure, my hero has a wry wit and a keen sense of observation, but it’s not exactly funny. So entertaining, yes, but is that enough?

After more thought, I realize I also write to encourage diversity. My characters always represent my real world: they’re not all white, able-bodied, straight people. I feature characters of color, differing sexualities, and physical disabilities.

Since I’m a “think out loud” kinda person, let’s talk about it. Food for thought has very few calories, right? So let’s all answer the question: Why do you write?

Why do you write graphic

About Gina X. Grant

Gina X. Grant writes ingenious plotlines with twists, turns and sometimes magic. She is represented by Rosemary Stimola, the agent who also represents the Hunger Games series. Gina’s RELUCTANT REAPER trilogy is available from Simon and Schuster’s Pocket Star imprint. She lives in Toronto, Canada, just blocks from the house she grew up in. She’s married to a friendly curmudgeon from a mining town in Northern Ontario. They have one rescued hound, Storm, named for Gina’s other pen name. Storm Grant—the writer, not the hound dog—writes engaging action adventure with two heroes. Since 2007, she has published with a variety of e-publishers and more recently, self-publishes. Gina’s and Storm’s books are available at all your favorite etailers, such as Amazon, Kobo and iTunes. Visit ginaXgrant.com or stormgrant.com to find out more.

Posted on April 18, 2016, in Opinion, real life, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey Gina, Like you I write to entertain and also to express my world view. I think my view is about the emotional honesty at the heart of relationships. Not the whining and confrontation that passes for honesty, but a gentle honesty that respects a person’s fears and celebrates a person’s joys.

  2. For me, writing is a hobby, but one I want to share with people. (There are only so many people I’m willing to share my quilt or my mittens with.)

    • That’s an interesting way to approach it. Initially, I too considered writing a hobby, but once there were contracts and dollar signs involved, legal obligations and income tax slips, I had to start thinking of it as something else: a profession, a career, a calling.

Leave a Reply

