What was your fave book of 2012?

Gina's actual bookshelves (2 of them, anyway)

Gina’s actual bookshelves (2 of them, anyway)

I read a mere 44 books in 2012. That’s just one short of being 50% of the 83 books I read in 2011. The reason it dropped significantly is because I got hooked on BBC Sherlock and dove into the fanfic for several months. So I read A Lot, just not published works.

I track what I read, and at the end of each year I look at my list and choose the book I thought was the best book I read that year. Drum roll please!

2006: Undead and Unwed by Mary Janice Davidson–my first encounter with the kind of funny urban fantasy I would grow up to write someday. (And that someday is this summer, June 17 to be exact.)

2007: Good Omens by Pratchett and Gaiman. This has remained my favourite book of all time. Now if only I could remember who I lent my copy to.

2008: Christopher Moore’s Lamb, The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal

2009: A Tie beetween Josh Bazell’s Beat the Reaper (which is not an urban fantasy, but a thriller of sorts) and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. If you can, listen to the audiobook of Graveyard. Neil himself reads it.

2010: I read all the Harry Potter books back to back, so I chose the entire series. I was also reading a lot of Discworld (Terry Pratchett), Thursday Next (Jasper Fforde) and Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovitch), all of which are worth honorable mention.

2011: Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles tied with Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

2012: The Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris

What was your favourite book that you read in 2012?

About Gina X. Grant

Gina X. Grant writes ingenious plotlines with twists, turns and sometimes magic. She is represented by Rosemary Stimola, the agent who also represents the Hunger Games series. Gina’s RELUCTANT REAPER trilogy is available from Simon and Schuster’s Pocket Star imprint. She lives in Toronto, Canada, just blocks from the house she grew up in. She’s married to a friendly curmudgeon from a mining town in Northern Ontario. They have one rescued hound, Storm, named for Gina’s other pen name. Storm Grant—the writer, not the hound dog—writes engaging action adventure with two heroes. Since 2007, she has published with a variety of e-publishers and more recently, self-publishes. Gina’s and Storm’s books are available at all your favorite etailers, such as Amazon, Kobo and iTunes. Visit ginaXgrant.com or stormgrant.com to find out more.

Posted on February 1, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

