THE STRANGEST SONGS EVER… #5

werewolfWe’re halfway there now, counting down to #1.

For those just tuning in, every Monday till I’m done, I’m posting my top 10 list of THE STRANGEST SONGS EVER.

DISCLAIMER: Don’t get me wrong, some of these are songs I adore. They’re just either about strange things people don’t usually sing about, or they just don’t make any sense.

The list so far…

#10 was Elton John’s Madman Across the Water, because it makes no sense.
#9 George Harrison’s, While My Guitar Gently Weeps, because it’s about housework.
#8, today’s Strangest song is… Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves by Cher. Yes, let’s all sell our women-folk into prostitution.
#7, the awesome dance tune, proving ultimately parody-able, PSY’s Gangnam Style.
# 6 is on of my fave tunes of all times. It’s Relax by Frankie Goes to Hollywood, on the list because we all wore those “Frankie says relax” T-shirts despite it being highly suggestive.

#5 is where they start to get stranger, still. I’ve chosen the Five Man Electrical Band’s Werewolf because instead of getting our son help, whether from a shrink or Dean Winchester, they chose to kill him instead!

And just to add to the family fun, Mom smiles when she thinks Billy killed dad! Don’t you just want to go to their place for Christmas?

Interesting, this song is mostly dialogue. As a writer, I rather like that.

Werewolf
Listen on YouTube

Mama said, “There’s something weird ’bout Billy.
I looked in his room, his bed wasn’t slept in at all last night.”
But Papa said, “Ah, now Mama, don’t you go talking silly.
He’s just a young boy. He’s just sowing his wild oats. And that’s all right.”

But Mama said, “No, There’s something real strange ’bout my Billy.
The farmer down the road said he lost a few of his sheep last night.
I know he’s my own flesh and blood, but he makes my blood run chilly.
Cause I saw him from my window and he was on the hill just screaming at the moonlight.”

[Chorus] Is it any wonder we hate to see the sun go down?
And is it any wonder we hate to see the full moon coming around?

So Papa said, “I guess there’s only one thing to do bout Billy.
Hand me down my gun, son. Bring along that silver dinner bell.”
But Mama said, “Papa, I beg you, don’t kill him.
Cause I just couldn`t bear to think about my baby in Hell!”

But he went down to the blacksmith. Got him out of bed and said “Get your fire hot.
Oh, shut up your shutters and close down the doors.
We’re gonna need all the heat you got, ’cause I want you to melt my silver bell down to a single shot.
I got a job to do and I got to get it done before the sun comes up.”

[Chorus]

Then we heard a shot and I said, “Papa got ‘im.”
Then we heard a scream and Mama smiled and said, “Betcha Billy got ‘im.”
But when I lifted up my eyes, there was Papa in the doorway staring at the floor.
And my big brother Billy never did Come home no more.

[Chorus]

About Gina X. Grant

Gina X. Grant writes ingenious plotlines with twists, turns and sometimes magic. She is represented by Rosemary Stimola, the agent who also represents the Hunger Games series. Gina’s RELUCTANT REAPER trilogy is available from Simon and Schuster’s Pocket Star imprint. She lives in Toronto, Canada, just blocks from the house she grew up in. She’s married to a friendly curmudgeon from a mining town in Northern Ontario. They have one rescued hound, Storm, named for Gina’s other pen name. Storm Grant—the writer, not the hound dog—writes engaging action adventure with two heroes. Since 2007, she has published with a variety of e-publishers and more recently, self-publishes. Gina’s and Storm’s books are available at all your favorite etailers, such as Amazon, Kobo and iTunes. Visit ginaXgrant.com or stormgrant.com to find out more.

Posted on January 21, 2013, in LoL!, Music, Opinion, update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow, that is one really weird song! Creepy, too.

  2. Stay tuned. They get worse! Coming up… impotence, cannibalism and more!

Leave a Reply

