Gina’s Next Big Thing (Does that sound dirty to you?)

Fake Movie Poster

Fake Movie Poster

I’m not usually one for memes, but “The Next Big Thing!” sounds like fun. I just wrote THE END a few minutes ago so I’m delighted to talk about my next big thing!

Thanks to Joan Leacott, author of the Clarence Bay Chronicles, for inviting me to participate!

Here’s 10 things you didn’t know about my own Next Big Thing:

1. What is the working title of your book?

Esprit de Corpse (Pssst! It’s okay to click pre-order. It doesn’t obligate you to anything and it could help my rankings.)

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

It’s Book 3 in the RELUCTANT REAPER series. It ties up all the plot lines and story questions raised in Book 1, The Reluctant Reaper and Book 2, Scythe Does Matter. (While leaving one tiny hint to coax readers on toward Book 4!)

3. What genre does your book fall under?

It’s a funny urban fantasy. Or to a lesser extent, a paranormal romance.  What’s the difference you ask? It has a strong romantic plotline, although it’s probably not a romance per se.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Main character Kirsty d’Arc is a sassy 25-year-old ex-office worker turned Grim Reaper. She’s 25 forever so someone I’d cast quite young in order for her to stay young enough to play the part for ALL the movies. I like Summer Glau. (See picture)

Love-interest Dante Alighieri is 700 years old but looks around 30. I think Jensen Ackles would be perfect (for just about anything.)

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

In Book 1, THE RELUCTANT REAPER, ordinary office worker Kirsty d’Arc is tricked into taking her evil boss’s place in Hell when his Deal runs out. She files a Wrongful Reapage appeal, but will she and the cute Reaper Dante find the key piece of evidence—the smoking stapler—in time?

In Book 2, SCYTHE DOES MATTER, Kirsty enrolls in the Reaper Academy with plans to save not just her own life, but that of her beloved aunt as well. But before she can graduate, she has to save the world!

In Book 3, ESPRIT DE CORPSE, Kirsty’s evil ex-boss finds a new victim and it’s up to Kirsty and Dante to save the day and see the ex-boss in Hell!

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

The first 3 books of THE RELUCTANT REAPER series are contracted to Simon and Schuster’s Pocket Star imprint. They release in June, July and August 2013. We’ll see what happens with the series and proceed from there.

I do intend to self-publish another book called SHIFT HAPPENS. It was previously published by a small e-publisher and I want to edit it to reflect my current writing skill level and self-publish it.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Like Joan, I too, kept track. I wrote the first draft in 1 month.

I wrote an average of 2060 words a day for 20 days over a 1 month period for a total of 45000 words. Subsequent drafts will bring it up to around 50,000 words. I had planned it in advance and Joan had given me her feedback on a narrative outline which meant I’d already worked the bugs out before I began to write the novel.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

It’s wacky urban fantasy, so I’d compare it with Sir Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series (although that gets filed in sci-fi). My agent pitched it as “Sookie Stackhouse [Charlaine Harris] meets Thursday Next [Jasper Fforde].” Other people have likened it to Christopher Moore. All of those are awesome authors and I’m honored to be in any way connected to them.

In addition, I’d say it is “geek fic.” That’s my own term for a new kind of fannish hero who references pop culture and fandom. Similar books include “Ready Player One” (Ernest Cline), Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid chronicles, and fellow Pocket Star author Michael Underwood’s “Geekomancy”.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I can’t remember why I decided to write a book about a Grim Reaper, but in terms of style, see all of the wonderful authors mention in Question #8, add Neil Gaiman and Janet Evanovich and you’ll see where I found my inspiration.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s set in Hell. There’s a drag demon with sequined horns and matching evening gowns. There are puns, body swapping, and a few earthy jokes. The good get rewarded and the bad get punished—in really creative ways.

What’s not to like?

I haven’t tagged anyone to take a turn at this, but if any of my friends want to give it a shot, please go right away. Tell ’em Gina sent you.

.

About Gina X. Grant

Gina X. Grant writes ingenious plotlines with twists, turns and sometimes magic. She is represented by Rosemary Stimola, the agent who also represents the Hunger Games series. Gina’s RELUCTANT REAPER trilogy is available from Simon and Schuster’s Pocket Star imprint. She lives in Toronto, Canada, just blocks from the house she grew up in. She’s married to a friendly curmudgeon from a mining town in Northern Ontario. They have one rescued hound, Storm, named for Gina’s other pen name. Storm Grant—the writer, not the hound dog—writes engaging action adventure with two heroes. Since 2007, she has published with a variety of e-publishers and more recently, self-publishes. Gina’s and Storm’s books are available at all your favorite etailers, such as Amazon, Kobo and iTunes. Visit ginaXgrant.com or stormgrant.com to find out more.

Posted on January 8, 2013, in LoL!, update, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Since I love jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next (and all the other books you mentioned) I think I’ll have to check your books out. What great titles!

  2. Thanks, Jessica. I only hope I live up to the expectations created in that pitch. o.0
    Even a little.

  3. You had me at the drag demon! Can’t wait for all three books!

  4. And puns… there’s lots of puns! When do I get book 3 to beta?

Leave a Reply

